The “Grown Up” list…

growup

Apparently, I have some growing up to do.

So do my fellow housemates at Project Southsea.

I’ll explain…

 

On New Years Day my housemates, C & R, as well as R’s girlfriend, all sat around chatting. We all were returning to work the next day and so were relaxing in our living room.

We were talking about our friend Dean.

A private joke between us all is that Dean loves to roll dice. I don’t have time to explain the reasons behind the joke (if you are really interested then feel free to email me & I’ll explain all).

Turns out that we all brought Dean Christmas gifts with a dice theme. From us he received Yahtzee, Furry Dice, The Dice Man novel, a show called Dice on DVD as well as various other Dice themed treats.

Diceman game

He may have also gotten a card with this image on it…

We thought it was hilarious.

R’s girlfriend, who is older than us all, did not.

“It’s not actually that funny you know. Dean brought you all really nice gifts and you all basically just took the piss…You boys should really grow up a bit…”

I was shocked.

So shocked I almost choked on my lolly pop!

C & R were equally perturbed.

However I couldn’t help but notice R subtly covering up his Power Rangers t-shirt whilst C very candidly turned the TV over from Spiderman cartoons to Sky Sports News.

She had struck a nerve.

 

 

Sitting around the following evening, us boys started talking.

We agreed that we all can be quite childish at times, maybe we should try and grow up a little.

It was then we made a decision. One that could possibly shape the course of 2013 for all 3 of us…

You see, rather than making New Year’s resolutions, we agreed to draw up what we have dubbed The ‘Grown Up’ list.

The Grown Up list will be a doctrine listing the behaviours that we wish to cut out in 2013 in order to be taken seriously as the adults that we supposedly are.

The plan is for us all to sit down on Sunday night and each make 7 submissions to the list.

I have been thinking about this today and have come up with the following for myself:

1) I shall stop eating dry Rice Krispies for dinner.
2) No more fist-bumping. A proper grown-up would shake hands, give a hearty backslap or hug. Maybe even a mixture of all 3. This is especially true for when I visit my Grandparents.
3) Whilst I am going to continue to drink chocolate Nesquik, I will stop drinking it through a bright curly straw.
4)From now on, all pairs of socks will be matching. I will also stop wearing socks with holes in them.
5) I must remember that offering to go to Cascades (those of you from across the Pond would call it ‘The Mall’), to sit at the Fountain and quietly mock passers-by is not an appropriate suggestion for a date when you are a grown up.
6)I will stop putting on various fake accents and inventing elaborate fake personas when I am alone with taxi drivers.
7) When I see a can (or any piece for litter for that matter) I shall no longer kick it into an imaginary goal and quietly celebrate to myself.

Yes, these are 7 things that I genuinely do regularly.

 

 

So what do you guys think?

I know that everyone has to grow up eventually. Even the Rugrats had a show where they all grew up…a bit.

However, I am starting to have doubts. This whole issue has raised some questions in my mind.

Is it really my time?

I am worried that growing up like this may make me become boring. I worry that perhaps my personality is intrinsically linked to these immature acts and therefore, by curbing them, I am taking away a large part of myself. What if I wake up one day, an old and miserable man, realising too late that youth truly is wasted on the young and that I should have endeavoured to stay as youthful as I could for as long as possible?

Plus, that show where the Rugrats grew up was rubbish!

 

 

Any feedback and comments that can be provided on the matter are most welcome.

I am now even tempted to simply blow off the whole list thing and convince the others to instead spend our Sunday night feasting on Rice Krispies whilst playing GoldenEye on the N64.

But that wouldn’t be very grown up of us now would it?

About Project Southsea

I blog mostly about my adventures in awkwardness.
This entry was posted in Advice, Humour, Lists and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The “Grown Up” list…

  1. Char says:

    Your blog caught my eye as I grew up near Southsea! This is hillarious – your style reminds me of Danny Wallace. I think there are certain times when you may have to act grown up, but just pretend – you never have to grow up properly! Char

    • Thanks for the kind words Char.
      The Danny Wallace comparison is a massive compliment (I may even print out a screen shot of that comment!) as I am a massive fan of his. He is very much an influence. I met him last year and he is also a great bloke.

      • Char says:

        Print screen away! Wow, that’s amazing – how did you meet him? I walked past him in Waterloo station once but was too shy/awkward/British to say anything!

      • My housemate and I went to a book reading/signing of his last year.
        During the reading he singled me out and asked me a question (I forget what it was). I lost the ability to speak and let out an awkward giggle/mumble hybrid. I maybe even have blushed. I think this somehow made him like me though.

  2. frequentneed says:

    I would like that sort of date

  3. Rebe says:

    But drinking out of a bright curly straw and kicking cans into imaginary goals are fun things! Why does one need to follow the “proper grown-up life”? I’ll end with a quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson to give you even more doubts about your list: “To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”

  4. While reading this, I became very aware of my comic book shirt and the half-empty bag of suckers I am working through (coincidental).
    I don’t think you should grow up, or rather, I don’t think you should stop doing what you love because someone else doesn’t like your lifestyle. If a grown up can’t play video games or watch cartoons or get amusing gifts for others….well, then who wants to be grown up anyway? It limits your imagination.

    • Agreed. I wouldn’t want to live in a world where I can’t play Goldeneye or tease Dean. Thanks for the input.
      What is a sucker by the way? Is that American for lollypop? I always thought it was an insult.

      • Oh, whoops. Yes, sucker is American for lollypop. Lollypop is used on occasion, but usually when it’s one of those giant colorful ones that no one could possibly finish. Sucker is also an insult, so it is kind of funny when you think about it. I prefer the edible kind.

  5. hermitageno8 says:

    I knew I was a grown up when I went to Canoe Lake without falling into the water – even when my son insisted that we take out a swan boat I remained completely dry! Sitting at the fountain mocking passersby, though, as long as the residents of Portsmouth continue to dress like that I think it is not only permissible but actually de rigeur!!

    • Ha! If you ever seen someone sitting at the fountain, who is not drunk but giggling to himself, then this is most likely me.

      My mum would never spring for us to go on one of the Swan Boats at Canoe Lake so my brother and I finally paid up and rented one during the summer…it was crap!

  6. dsantos85 says:

    great post! I don’t think you should do anything you don’t want to do. If those are things you genuinely would like to stop doing, then go for it! But if you’re going to do it because somebody else is making you feel like you should, is not the right reason. I think people can have a good balance of an “adult life” and still enjoying “childish” things. I know, I do! Also, if those are things you feel really show who you are as a person, then definitely don’t give it up. You are who you are and if nobody can appreciate it…it’s their loss! 🙂

  7. Great blog! I think you are missing the real issue here though. The problem isn’t that you aren’t grown up enough, the problem is the boys girlfriend is clearly an unhappy elderly lady. Otherwise known in some circles as a “cougar”. I suggest you buy her an Angelica Rugrat lunch box and tell her to come join the party!

    • Ha. I like your style!

      We were thinking of playing a game of hide and seek indoors just before she comes over (usually every Monday, Weds and Fri night) and seeing if she’ll join in.

  8. Since you were kind enough to start following my blog I thought I’d take a punt over here and see waht you’re up to.
    I have some very bad news for you. I’m pushing sixty and still make an arse of myself on a regular basis. Sorry, but there it is.
    Losing the curly straw is a good idea though. It’s a start….
    🙂

  9. Ross Blankert says:

    I am 65 and considered a clown because I like to tell jokes and will talk to complete strangers at the grocery store. I never listen to my wife or I would walk around never looking at anyone or speaking to people I don’t know. I say be yourself. I would love to meet you. I like to tell stories. I refuse to grow up. You can be serious at work about things that are serious but always be yourself. Life is too short to be a grown up all the time.

  10. Henry Toledo says:

    I don’t think you have to grow up. Just be yourself. If that you is a fist bumping, rice krispy kreme dinner eating, bright straw sucker, then let it be! I thought the gifts were an awesome idea. If your friend Dean didn’t have a problem with it, then let it be. I know me and my friends do the same thing with the gifts during Christmas!

  11. Thomas says:

    It’s a balancing act. Take your life seriously, just don’t take yourself seriously.

    If you really want to change I recommend changing your role or giving yourself/friends a right of passage. Have a camping trip. Agree what being men means. Spend the time discussing it and working out the kinks. Decided on a ritual to symbolize your transition. Live it up on your last night as “boys.” In the morning, wake up and walk away “men” or “grown-ups” or whatever. Hold each other accountable afterwards.

    I’d also say don’t ever stop trying to define what it means to be a man/grown-up, because it will change over time and you’ll have to change with it. If these aren’t conscious transitions you may become something you never meant to be.

  12. never grow up!!!! i eat PB&J for lunch and corndogs for dinner on the reg… it’s way more fun than real life 🙂
    -S

  13. Pingback: A Guest Post (well…kind of)…Project Revolver. | Project Southsea blog

  14. jennypugh says:

    To be honest, I don’t think Nesquik tastes right unless it’s through a bright curly straw 🙂

Leave a Reply

