The Bet: an update

As some of you will know, I recently made a bet with my housemates. It was one that I was certain to lose.

Those of you who are unfamiliar with the story can read all about it here.

I would like to say a massive thank you to everyone who chipped in with a suggestion. I really appreciate it.

Last night was the night where I had to plead my case.

Bit like this, not as flamboyant though.

Bit like this, not as flamboyant though.

I was pumped up.

For dramatic effect I agreed to meet them all there. Despite, you know, living with two of the three of them.

So after work I paid my grandparents a visit, had a few cups of tea, and then made my way to the restaurant alone.

For some reason I thought that a late entrance with them a sitting at the table, eagerly anticipating my arrival, would have an impact and perhaps have them take me more seriously. I was really invested in this idea.

I accidentally showed up early though.

Rather than lose my perceived edge I decided to take a quick walk around the block, hopefully they would have arrived in the 5 minutes that this would take.

I completed my lap and peered through the front window.

They weren’t there yet.

Still heavily invested in the late entrance, I went on a second lap.

Again, they weren’t there upon my return.

On to lap three and my enthusiasm was beginning to wane. It was cold outside, I was hungry and had walked past the same homeless woman 3 times. She didn’t say anything but I knew she was suspicious of me.

Once again, they were not there.

I got roughly 6 steps into lap 4 when I heard them shout my name. I spun around.

“Evening gentlemen”

They looked confused.

“errr…why are you walking away from the restaurant?”

I had to think on my feet

“just realised that I don’t have any money so was gonna hit up the cash machine”

R smiled

“Ha! Why would you need money? If you’re as confident in your argument as you were on Sunday then surely you’ll be dining on us tonight?”

Damn him.

We all entered the restaurant together.

her judgement became too much for me

her judgement became too much for me

I lost.

All of my points were dismissed or countered with remarks such as “just wear a condom”, “have sex but don’t share a bed”, “Freud was mental”, “one person can’t change the world” and “there is no such thing as a sex goblin” (I may have made some stuff up in desperation).

They also made fun of the fact I had made handouts which were carefully preserved in plastic wallets. All of this was in a folder. I had also crafted a label for the folder which read ‘evidence’. They called me a nerd, a dork and a nerdy dork!

As agreed, I paid for all of their meals as well as my own.

Suffice to say it has been a crap couple of days, especially after going through my awkward Wednesday and having to fork out on a three figure food bill on Thursday.

This week can be saved though. I have friends coming down from London tonight. We are going out to some bars. This will cheer me up big time.

Although money is a little tight at my end after paying for dinner last night.

The first thought that entered my head was maybe I could win some money on a bet to fund a Friday nights worth of drinking.

Clearly I have learnt nothing from this whole experience.

About Project Southsea

I blog mostly about my adventures in awkwardness.
This entry was posted in Humour and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Bet: an update

  1. 3 figures? They really took you to the cleaners lol

  2. riliye says:

    If it makes you feel better, I think it’s cute and endearing that you had it all labeled and in plastic files. Also, sorry about the bet. =( Better luck next time, because I’m sure there will be one.

  3. H. Stern says:

    I’m with Riliye. Also, man, condoms BREAK. You can’t be sure of that shit. Plus, bitches be crazy, all poking holes in them, or saying they’re on the pill… I think you should put their hands in warm water while they’re sleeping. You know… payback!

    • Ha. Don’t worry, I plan on getting revenge on them sometime soon.

      Also, didn’t you have a baby recently? Was this how you snared your husband?

      • H. Stern says:

        Trade secret!! Ha ha ha…. but seriously, yes.

        No. Kidding. We’ve been married for YEARS. I’m all old n shit, and my eggs were threatening to tell my mother unless I pulled one from the bench.

        BOOM! Baby.

  4. LOL! Poor you, man. What a hilarious post! MORE! XD

  5. It helps if you take a moral and religious stance on it. Gives you a little bit of motivation. I’m going on two months clean from sex and masturbation. Still going strong too.

    • As I am not really a religious individual and have no moral obligations to sex I don’t think that would be in good taste on my part.

      However, kudos to you on 2 months of abstinence mate. You must have an iron will my friend.

Leave a Reply

