A Guest Post (well…kind of)…Project Revolver.

Today I am going to share some things with you. I also have a guest who is going to share something with you. They’ll be here in a minute.

So when I was a kid I did not always want to be an awkward, semi anonymous blogger who works at a tin pot marketing company in Southern England.

Now I realise that this may come as a great shock to you all but as a youngster I did not imagine myself being the guy who made up fake amazon reviews, writes a Grown-Up list or accidentally insults old female colleagues at work. In fact, I had several dreams, ambitions and plans for my life that seem to have gone unfulfilled.

As a very young man I wanted to marry Kylie Minogue (google her if this name means nothing to you) and live with her in the converted police station that The Ghostbusters occupied. As I got older the my affections turned towards Melissa Joan Hart AKA Sabrina The Teenage Witch. Then I hit my teens and decided that my efforts were better spent pursuing girls who: (a) weren’t famous, (b) were my age, and (c) actually attainable for me in terms of looks.

I also had several career paths that I wanted to travel down as a child. Each of which were unrealistic. I will share them with you now. In no particular order, I have at one time or another wanted to be Spiderman, a professional footballer, a Power Ranger, a professional wrestler, a Ninja Turtle, an artist, a Sheriff and, of course, a Ghostbuster.

However the main dream I had was to be a Rock Star.

Could have been me...

Could have been me…

This Rock Star dream was one that I took a little more seriously than the others. I mean I know that I did once practice climbing walls whilst masked in order to perfect my Spidey skills which resulted in a broken collarbone and the police once turned up during one session thinking I was trying to burgle my nans house. But that was more of a phase than anything else.

The Rock Star dream consumed me as a kid and I spent countless hours in my room, listening to the radio or whatever CD’s I stolen from my dad’s house (this was originally mostly The Beatles, The Clash, Madness, Joy Division, Oasis and Nirvana albums), whilst miming in front of a mirror with a tennis racquet in my hand.

I formed a band called “Gin & Tonic” with my friend Phil despite us having no instruments. We got as far as writing out stage intro of “i’m Gin and he’s Tonic…together we are Gin & Tonic!” before it dawned on us that bands need instruments.

In order to realise this dream I began taking music lessons. I was lucky that the school I went to offered free lessons to students with parents on income support.

After failing in trying to master the piano (hated the teacher), the guitar (could not afford one of my own to practise with), the drums (no coordination) and the bass (I actually did OK with this one but I was too small to stand up and hold the bass on stage so got self conscious and quit) I realised that I have no musical ability and gave up on my quest to become a Rock Star.

I thought about becoming a groupie for a little while…I then realised what a groupie is! This revelation caused yet another dream to fade.

However, throughout my pursuits I did develop a love of music. Since my teenage years I have spent most of my disposable income on purchasing new music as well as going to various gigs and festivals.

Back in the day, I used to frequent the local second hand record shop in order to discover new music. However modern times have seen a death of smaller record shops (and several of the major chains too), couple this with me being an adult (with a job and hangovers and ironing to do) and I find that I do not have as much time to discover new music as I had when I was younger.

Luckily, I work at a computer, so I now use the internet to discover new music.

This brings me to my guest poster. The Revolver Project.

We would have been huge!

We would have been huge!

The Revolver Project is an interesting and unique WordPress site that I stumbled across a while back. This site invites contributors to discover and share new music. Basically Project Revolver accepts contributions from anyone wishing to list their top 5/top 10/top 20 songs of a certain artist or genre. Project Revolver will then post these on the blog with links to a YouTube video of the song.

It is a quick and easy way for anyone to either find out about a certain band or share an act they have recently discovered with others. I visit the site a lot and have contributed a couple of lists (one of which that I am still waiting to be put up Project Revolver…tut tut!).

I asked Project Revolver to contribute a few words to my blog by way of introduction but after some emails both and forth we both agreed that it made more sense if he/she (even after exchanging many emails I am still none the wiser as to his/her gender) gave a list of his/her Top 10 favourite artists of all time. Included is a link to a song for each.

Project Revolver’s Top 10 Artists of all time:

Hope you all enjoy. If you have a band or artist that you wish to share then get on over to the site and send Project Revolver an email.

 

PS – I am now on Twitter. I still don’t really understand what it is or how it works but if you are also on Twitter then please feel free to stop by. https://twitter.com/The_PS_Blog

 

About Project Southsea

I blog mostly about my adventures in awkwardness.
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Guest Post (well…kind of)…Project Revolver.

  1. I’ve had a twitter for about a year and a half and I still don’t know how to use it. Good luck.

  2. Great post – love the list!

  3. frequentneed says:

    I WILL be reading this momentarily
    however
    I’m here to actually inform you that I have nominated you for a “beautiful blogger” award.
    Check out my post

  4. frequentneed says:

    I dont know anything about twitter but it might comfort you to know that I at least looked at yours and now feel like I know nothing more 🙂

  5. H. Stern says:

    First of all, I am going to stalk the shit out of you on the twitters, because I get bored at work. Even though, I think you’re like, 17 or something, so it’s highly illegal in the US. ANYway…

    Also, do you have access to Pandora? It’s a great site, and I’ve discovered a TON of new music through them.

    Also also, have you thought about going into music marketing, like promotions and stuff? I have no idea how to get into it, but if you love music, why not?

    • jennypugh says:

      It’s truly gutting but Pandora is now blocked in the UK. I used to use it years ago, and it was excellent for discovering new music, but due to “licensing constraints” anyone outside of the USA, Australia and New Zealand are blocked 😦

    • Haha! Fortunately for you I am older than 17 so you don’t have to fret about any impending jail time…well, not for stalking minors online anyways!

      Music Promotion is certainly an option. Am trying to learn the whole marketing thing before I look into extra-curricular stuff though. As soon as I do there will be gig tickets coming your way!

  6. jennypugh says:

    Thanks for the heads up, I’m off to check out Project Revolver now 😀

  7. Erratica101 says:

    Project Revolver is truly awesome. There’s a list of my own somewhere there 🙂

Leave a Reply

